Walnut Fudge Cups

The quintessential feast day. A celebration of food and family. Also known as “Turkey Day.” Yes, that’s right. It’s Thanksgiving.

Photo by Megan Suckut

Photo by Megan Suckut

While there’s so much I love about this holiday, from making monstrous turkey-stuffing-potato sandwiches, to visiting with my uncle and grandparents, to catching a Packers game on TV, I absolutely love waking up at 10:30 to the hearty, mouthwatering smell of a turkey roasting in the oven. As much as I would love to be present and awake to watch the turkey cook and baste it and everything, this tired, worn-out college student is just too happy to be home in her own bed and get more than 6 hours of sleep.

I made up for it, though, with my dessert. Last night before turning in for the night, I made a batch of walnut fudge cups. Lately, I’ve just really been into the idea of micro-dishes, like real food that comes in tiny quantities (fancy, huh?), so I couldn’t resist the prospect of cooling my homemade fudge in mini cupcake liners rather than a big, ugly 8×8 traditional baking pan.

Of course it must be acceptable to sleep in a little later if you give your family some of these, right?

P.S. To all of you reading my blog and enjoying my recipes, pictures, obsessions, anything, just know that you all rock. I’m beyond grateful for all you guys because I’d probably still write this blog out of my love for food, but it’s y’all who make it exciting for me. Thank you for everything, and have a happy Thanksgiving!

And a cameo by my baby brother / Photo by Megan Suckut

And a cameo by my baby brother. / Photo by Megan Suckut

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups sugar
2/3 cup evaporated milk
2 tablespoons butter
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 cups mini marshmallows
1 1/2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
1/2 cup walnuts, chopped, plus 1/4 cup unchopped walnuts for garnish
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

1. Line a mini muffin tin with mini cupcake cups.

Photo by Megan Suckut

Photo by Megan Suckut

2. Mix sugar, evaporated milk, butter and salt in a saucepan.

Photo by Megan Suckut

Photo by Megan Suckut

3. Boil for 4-5 minutes over medium heat, stirring constantly, then remove from heat.

Photo by Megan Suckut

Photo by Megan Suckut

4. Add marshmallows, chocolate chips, chopped walnuts and vanilla. Mix well.

Photo by Megan Suckut

Photo by Megan Suckut

5. Scoop fudge into cupcake cups and flatten.

Photo by Megan Suckut

Photo by Megan Suckut

6. Press whole walnuts into tops of fudge cups.

Photo by Megan Suckut

Photo by Megan Suckut

7. Refrigerate for a few hours, or until firm.

Photo by Megan Suckut

Photo by Megan Suckut

Makes about 30 fudge cups

Leave a Reply

