Farfalle Macaroni and Cheese

It’s so hard to be satisfied with homemade macaroni and cheese, especially when you grew up on that creamy, orange Kraft Rugrats-shaped mac like me. Whether you make it with Velveeta, straight cheese or whatever, it always seems to fall short of boxed macaroni and cheese, and it may leave you with little intention of ever making it yourself again.

Well I think I found the homemade mac and cheese I’ll be eating from now on.

While I was at home over the weekend, my mom and I cooked up a storm. On Friday night, my youngest brother (12 years old) asked for macaroni and cheese for dinner. Truth be told, I wanted to cook as much as possible while I was home, since we have so much cooking stuff and an actual stove there. But to make boxed mac when all I wanted to do was cook? Nah. I wouldn’t be having it.

Before I tried out this variation on the usual Velveeta mac my family has had for years, I really didn’t have much hope for homemade. But, to my surprise, this stuff was actually good. Yes, you read it right – not just palatable, but good. And probably a tiny bit healthier and a few less preservatives.

Don’t tell anyone, but I might just like this better than Kraft.

Ingredients

3/4 pound farfalle (a.k.a. most of the box)
1 can (10 3/4 ounces) cheddar cheese soup
1 1/2 cup milk
1/4 cup mozzarella
1/4 cup Parmesan
1/4 cup Colby jack
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
Ground black pepper to taste

TOPPING
2 tablespoons butter
1/4 cup Parmesan
1/3 cup panko

Directions

1. Cook farfalle according to package directions; drain.

Photo by Megan Suckut

Photo by Megan Suckut

2. In a medium saucepan, combine cheddar cheese soup, milk and cheeses. Stir in garlic and pepper.

Photo by Megan Suckut

Photo by Megan Suckut

3. Heat on medium for 10 minutes, or until cheese is melted.

Photo by Megan Suckut

Photo by Megan Suckut

4. Stir cheese sauce into cooked farfalle.

Photo by Megan Suckut

Photo by Megan Suckut

TOPPING

1. Melt butter in a separate pan.

2. Add Parmesan and panko, and cook until golden brown.

Photo by Megan Suckut

Photo by Megan Suckut

3. Crumble topping and serve over macaroni and cheese.

Photo by Megan Suckut

Photo by Megan Suckut

One thought on “Farfalle Macaroni and Cheese

  1. Pingback: Homemade Mini Corn Dogs | Nibbles & Noshing

Leave a Reply

