The Science Behind Baking Cookies

I’ve been baking cookies up the wazoo in preparation for Christmas, and now that the day is here, I’ve had a bit of time to think about how much I like cookies, and how important it is for me to bake cookies accustomed to my own taste in cookies.

I’ve usually baked with recipes I find online, but that can be so hit-or-miss. More often than not, I’ve ended up with cookies that are just a little off, whether they’re too brown or too crispy or not chewy enough. That’s why I looked into the science of cookie-making.

There are some really great, inspiring resources online for all the information you’d ever want. Going into this research, I decided I wanted to write about it on my blog, but then I realized that so many great blogs have covered it, and I was worried about not being able to contribute anything useful. I mean, seriously, how could I beat J. Kenji López-Alt’s super in-depth and incredible analysis of cookie baking, or TED-Ed’s Chemistry of Cookies video, by Stephanie Warren?

So I decided to contribute something of my own, something I’ve been yearning to do for a while. Yep, that’s right. I used the aforementioned resources and added in Jacques Torres’ masterful chocolate chip cookie recipe, and I created an infographic. It was a lot of work to put together, but mostly a lot of fun, and I ask that if you use it anywhere, please link back to Nibbles & Noshing. Enjoy, and Merry Christmas!

Infographic by Megan Suckut

Infographic by Megan Suckut

Leave a Reply

